Nerves, Nerves and more NERVES!!

Eclipse 2014 Festival Rehersals

So that’s another nights sleep lost to nerves and a totally restless night and this morning is not a lot better with butterfly’s growing as the day progresses and this evening’s shoot with Eclipse Gymnastics draws closer.

It is the clubs 10th anniversary and I’ve been invited back to photograph this years Christmas show and I’ll also be producing the annual show video again.  Goodness knows why I get so nervous though, I love photography, I adore making memories for people and supporting the club is just a privilege.  The kids have all the hard work to do during their performances and not one appears to show any nerves at all – it’s just not fair.

However, one this this week put everything into context.  I put a lot of pressure on myself throughout my daily life to do the best that I can and especially with my photography.  I want to get better and better and, above all, I want to get good results that capture that special moment for people and when you have just one chance and usually in a low light and manic environment with way too much going on, this can be a real challenge.  This results in huge anxiety on my part and, some say to me, needless pressure.

So what happened this week to put this into context.  Robbie Williams was on the television for his Icon Brit Award and he was talking about the tough times he had when young and how he gets hugely nervous to the point of being ill before going on stage.  He also indicated that one of his talents was the ability to turn those nerves into an amazing performance, something that he does in spades in my opinion every time he goes on stage.

For someone that feels the same before a live and unrehearsed photo shoot of the type I’m off to in a few hours time, I’m going to take heart from an truly professional icon and I’m going to use those nerves to produce some nice images for the parents over the weekend.

Let’s hope I can pull this out of the bag again and get some wonderfully positive comments like last year – The words of one guy walking away from my printer holding an image of his granddaughter and saying that it was “one of the best photographs of XXX that he’s seen” was enough to make what I do very, VERY worthwhile.

If all goes well, I’ll have a set of images available to purchase at the show tomorrow and then a more complete set following the show.  The full set should be on www.m4photo.co.uk sometime during Sunday afternoon/evening.

Finally, they will not need it but, I’d like to wish the whole of the Eclipse Gymnastics Club the very best of luck for another amazing performance.  Sitting in on one of the practice sessions last week, I was amazed to see some of the moves that the Elite Squad are now doing and which were the domain of Lucy, Ellie and just one or two others for the loongest time.  This is one club that raises the bar year on year on year.

Good luck guys.

Leave a Reply

