A week at Stanwick Lakes

Stanwick Lakes Visitor Centre - Copyright 2015 Martyn Phillips, M4Photo.

Stanwick Lakes Visitor Centre – Copyright 2015 Martyn Phillips, M4Photo.

Every day for a week I have watched the weather reports and the sky and I have got down to Stanwick Lakes whenever the conditions looked favourable.  However, I am fast beginning to realise just how lucky we were in California with the weather and how unpredictable it can be here in the UK.

I have not yet managed to get to the lake with one of the wonderful golden or red sunrises or sunsets and I’ll continue to strive to get those images that remain on my wish list.  However, I have taken a few more images from the back lake and also some images of a sunrise over the Visitors Centre at the lakes.  It is amazing to watch the sky change minute by minute and the sunrise morning really did go from colour to colour over the hour or so that I was there.  It will be interesting to see what reaction I get to each on Flickr and 500px and I therefore plan to upload a few images that show the changing conditions over two of the sessions.

Stanwick Lakes is a beautiful complex of old, now flooded, pits that have been developed and managed to provide a rich nature reserve with a diverse range of birds visiting the lakes throughout the year.

Please see the range of images that will be posted to the two sites over the next few days – one images a day.  The two links are:

If you have a Flickr or 500px account, please leave me a comment on your favourite of the images.

@StanwickLakes
#StanwickLakes

Leave a Reply

