What my i sees – Austria

Austria 2014 - Mountains overlooking Zell Um See

Austria 2014 – Mountains overlooking Zell Um See

This Christmas was a little special this year and it involved a trip away from home. Owing to the generosity of some close friends, Joanna, the girls and I bought flights to Austria and we had a wonderful apartment to ourselves for the week. Our friends had the apartment next to us and the whole week proved to be relaxing and highly enjoyable.

I’ll not trouble you with the photographs of us trying to ski and snow board on the mountains, but it was really interesting to see how the weather can affect the scenery.

On arrival we had to make our way into Zell Um See to buy provisions for the week. Sods law that my camera was left behind to allow for shopping bags to be carried back to the apartment and as we left the sun began to sink in the sky turning the mountain tops a beautiful golden colour. We were glad to have some snow later in the week, but this was the first and last time with the golden topped mountains and I missed the display of colour. One very good reason not to leave your camera and phone behind.

Most of the time was spent on the mountains and on excursions which did not really allow for any decent photographs to be taken or the lugging around of my camera gear. However, I kept my iPhone to hand and below are a few of the images that captured the changing weather of our week.

The image above is the awesome view that we had whilst eating lunch on the ski slopes about Zell Um See.  The vista was glorious and we had great weather until mid afternoon when the wind picked up and started whisking the snow up and into our faces.  However, whilst damn cold, the sun did come out over the mountains at midday and I quickly grabbed the image whilst I was able to.

Austria 2014 - Zeller See Lake

Austria 2014 – Zeller See Lake

One of of earliest excursions was into Zell Um See for provisions.  Whilst the rest of our party took to the bars for something to eat and drink, I headed off down to Zeller See Lake.  Most of the week this view was overcast and not overly obliging, but on this trip and armed only with my iPhone the sky cleared and, whilst a little hazzy, I caught the shot above and the one below.

Austria 2014 - Zeller See Lake

Austria 2014 – Zeller See Lake

The image above was taking a little further around the lake and the sun lowering in the sky had begun to turn the snow covered mountains from their bleached white into cream (as taken here) and then golden colours.  Unfortunately, the weather was not kind and the haze obscured the mountain range as the light changed.  I never got back to get the glorious golden coloured mountains on this trip.  Maybe next time.

Austria 2014 - View from Maishofen Bus Shelter

Austria 2014 – View from Maishofen Bus Shelter

We had snow towards the end of the week and one morning the skies cleared enough to capture a shot looking back from the resort.  This was actually taken using my Canon 5D with no filter aids whilst waiting for the bus into town.  Whilst the composition is not wonderful, it was one of the better alpine looking images from the week and it turned out to be one of my favorites.  This image is as taken and I might run it through #Photoshop at some point to lift the colours – not something I like to do too often because I think that it removes the memory.

Austria 2014 - Maishofen

Austria 2014 – Maishofen

The image above is the view from our balcony window.  We were just north of Maishofen and this is a view down the valley towards Zell Um See.  As you can see, the weather was not great on arrival and one of the main reasons why my canon was left in the room – along with leaving hands free for carrying provisions for the week.

As we went through the week the weather turned very overcast with snow clouds dominating the sky.  Trying to find a break in the clouds was tough but I was luck to get some of the images above.  The images below show how the weather can really change a view.

Austria 2014 - Maishofen

Austria 2014 – Maishofen

This was taken just before one of the bigger daytime snow falls during the week.

Austria 2014 - Maishofen

Austria 2014 – Maishofen

This was the day after the snow first fell and the valley was full of low cloud obscuring the mountains.  A couple of days later and the valley floor was bathed in thick mist when we awoke.  By the time this image was taken, the mist had begun to clear a little, just showing how quickly things changed in the valley.

Austria 2014 - Maishofen

Austria 2014 – Maishofen

I woke early on the final morning expecting to see more overcast skies.  To my surprise, I was greeted with a beautiful sunrise.  The valley was full of mist again with the mountains peeking out of the top and the clearing night’s cloud picked out the red of the rising sun.  Again, this was a quick iPhone shot from the balcony and by the time I had reached for my Canon the red sky had gone – these colours appeared and dissipated so quickly.

If this was a trip to capture photographs, rather than a much needed holiday break, I would have had to have been very careful to have researched each shot and made sure that I was in position good and early with the camera mounted and ready to go.

Final Morning Sunrise over Maishofen.

Final Morning Sunrise over Maishofen.

I am planning on getting out and capturing more landscape images this year.  This was always my plan once I had saved up for my filter set and new tripod.  However, an overwhelming nice surprise this morning has resulted in me bringing those equipment purchasing plans forward by a few months.  Later in the Spring, I will be flying off to Navada and California to learn how to take high quality landscape photographs with one of the best names in the business.  More on that later.

Now this posting goes under the heading of what my i sees, and that means the #iPhone or #iPad.  It has often been said that the best camera is the one that you have to hand and this was even more apparent during this trip.  Not least on the flight home.  Somewhere over Europe the airplane made a turn, the cloud base smoothed like I have never seen before and I was presented with a somewhat other worldly photo opportunity.

iPhone capture of the sun whilst cruising over Europe.

iPhone capture of the sun whilst cruising over Europe.

The image quality is not great because it was taken on the iPhone, through a double glassed commercial aircraft window at x,000 feet up above the clouds.  However, I just love the sun burst (even if the sun is completely blown out) and the colours of the cloud base.  With a slight curvature, it looks like a photograph taken from space as we cruise over some alien planet. An image that I strangely enjoy every time it pops up on my screen.

For those of you that are pictorially and photo technically brilliant, none of the images in this posting have been corrected using #Photoshop.  They are just a handful of natural light images that I like and which captured my week in #Austria.  I hope that you enjoy them as  much as I do.

Leave a Reply

