Where did I learn my photography skills?

Karl Taylor Photography's online DSLR Training Course.

(C) Karl Taylor Photography – This webpage includes sound.

I am fairly frequently asked where I learned about photography, what camera settings to use and how to frame an image. For years I simply did what came naturally to me using the automatic camera settings. As I got more into what I was doing, the results from using full auto often fell short of my expectations and I finally moved to the other settings and full manual.

After deciding to invest in my new camera and explore the world of commercial event photography, I thought it best to learn more about the skills involved. There was the usual visit to my local bookshop and a couple of good book purchases and, of course, YouTube has been invaluable.

It was on YouTube that I first came across Karl Taylor Photography. Karl is a professional commercial photographer with a full studio, a great team and access to some of the leading equipment. Whilst he puts that to great use commercially, he has also branched out into education. He has a relaxed, informative and understandable approach to all this photographic teaching and best of all he publishes a number of videos that touch on numerous aspects of photography and which are both FREE and packed with useful information.

Karl Taylor Photography's exploding paint image.

(C) Karl Taylor Photography Exploding Paint Image.

He also attends many of the big photographic shows and undertakes some truly inspirational demonstrations to packed crowds. Just recently he was at ShootLDN and produced some amazing very high speed images smashing whiskey glasses together and wonderful paint effect images using several colours of paint and a balloon. His Facebook Page has more details about these demonstrations and it is well worth a look.

Anyway, we digress slightly. Whilst looking for photography tutorials online, I came across Karl’s Free DSLR Photography Course (Beware, this URL opens to a page with sound) and promptly sat down and watched each lesson, one after the other. I began to put into practice some of what I had learned and I have a long list of things to try in the Spring when I have some new bits and pieces (more on that in another blog posting). If you have a new DSLR and want to know how to make it sing, then I would suggest checking out Karl’s free videos as a first step.

These free videos are simply a taster of what Karl offers. I later went on to take up one of Karl’s special offers and I bought one of his entry level DVD sets which includes an Introduction to Photography, a look at Travel and Landscape and two DVDs entitled Advanced Digital SLR Photography. All of these build on the free videos and they are well worth purchasing, especially if you can catch one of the offers.  I have watched them all several times and will no doubt watch them again and again over the winter.

Watch out for more from Karl and the people that inspire me on this blog over the coming months. Oh, and please like my Facebook Page and Karl Taylor Photography’s Facebook Page.

www.m4photo.co.uk

#M4Photo #KarlTaylorPhotography #ShootLDN #DSLR #PhotographyTraining

Leave a Reply

