Clair & David’s Wedding Pictures

Clair & David's Wedding

Clair & David’s Wedding

I was recently asked to photograph Clair and David’s wedding following one of the successful Eclipse Gymnastics shoots.  Whilst I am still working on the details of the M4Photo wedding package I was pleased to accept and to use this wedding to test out the concept and results.

The day was set to be one of the hottest of the summer and with weather warnings on the news, it was going to be a fun day.  The plan, very simply, was to capture images throughout the day and to document the parts of the day that are all too often missed.  For example, the formal photographs often tend to be full of people grinning (I pull the worse grin for photographs on the planet, so I’m not one to talk) and often just lines of people standing in front of the official camera.

My aim is to get some of the more informal photographs when people’s guard is down, when they are having fun and other occasions that make the day.  Whereas the formal wedding photographer will be picking the best shooting angles, I’ll be off to one side and even looking the other way totally.  This enables me to get shots that are taken from a tighter angle (rather than full length) and giving a different dimension to the images.  Of course, eye contact is lost, but I still find that some of the shots are almost better than the straight on eye contact shots.

The only downside and something of a challenge is having to work with only natural light.  I can;t use strobes or flash because it will get in the way of the official photographer.  However, some post processing helps to overcome some of the challenges that can’t be overcome in camera, for example extreme back lighting or very low light.

Anyway, following a torrential downpour whilst the reception was being put together – a small marque in a field behind the Chequers in Yeldon we headed back to the house for the family to get ready.  Any hope of getting some images of the setting up were forgotten owing to the weather.

Back at home we caught some nice images before heading over to the reception.  Giving the official photographer the pick of location left me with a horrendously back-lit scene and more challenges.  However, this is the domain of the official photographer, and whilst my images were OK, I hope that he got the better shots for the couple.  we then headed outside for the group shots and again more challenges owing to the extremely harsh sunshine.  It was mid afternoon, the sun was out at full strength and a strobe was really needed to fill those inevitable shadows.  Catching shots with people’s eyes open and not closed or squinting was another challenge but you have to roll with the conditions.  All said and done, the images were reasonable, so I was relatively happy.

We then headed off back to the reception and the opportunity to capture some really nice casual shots.  With some very photogenic kids along to join in the fun of the bouncy castles, I was very pleased with a few of the images and I’m very overly critical of my images.

If you were one of the wedding party please contact Clair or David for a password to the gallery.  There are images of children and for that reason the gallery is a locked one.

I am now more clear in my mind how the M4photo wedding package will work and I will be updating the wedding page over the next week or so once I have finalised those thoughts.  Finally, thank you to Clair and David for allowing me to try this concept.  Hopefully you’ll like some of the shots from your special day.

 

Leave a Reply

